Thor

Thor, according to Norse mythology, is the god of thunder, lightning and, intriguingly, oak trees as well, learn something new every day .. see! I first watched this movie back at its release and i was not completely impressed.  I think what threw me the most first time around is that the movie is set in the world of the fantastical, gods and monsters, rather than how the hulk and iron man were set in a more tech based reality.  This time around it just totally fits!  So our story… THOR (Chris Hemsworth) the thunder god and heir to the throne of Asgard, swaggers about like some chiselled abed celestial beer monster. When the Ice Giants show up to steal their minty fresh artefact back and ruin his day of ascension to the throne, our violence prone warrior with serious anger management problems becomes less than pleased. Disobeying his father Odin (Anthony Hopkins) he storms off to teach the Frost Giants a lesson for their insolence, by practically kicking an entire planet’s worth of monsters asses single handily. His father exasperated and disgusted by the arrogant, rash and insolent behaviour strips him of his godly powers takes away his hammer sends him to earth for punishment. Here the meets or rather gets run over by Jane Foster(Natalie Portman) an aspiring but an earnest young scientist and team Erik Selvig(Stellan Skarsgård) and Darcy Lewis(Kat Dennings). I wont spoil the rest of the plot or story but you can pretty much tell what happens.

Why did I choose this movie, Well again I didn’t it was my friend Matthew who invited me along to the The First of the Marvel Triple Bill! Thor, The Avengers and Thor: The Dark World.  For all my complaining I done after watching it first time around, and the second,  I have to say that I had such a great time watching it!  An exhilarating experience with a terrific cast and although the plot is a tad predictable for an origins story it got everything it needed to get in while leaving what it could leave out!  The visuals are spectacular, mainly, the sweeping tinfoil canvas of Asgard. The action scenes were fantastic and there was just the right amount of humour which all helps you look past the few moronic clichés that were thrown in such as Natalie Portman swooning over your big guy with no top on! (ok I will admit i swooned a little too).

My Rating: B
Format: Cinema (Cineworld: Edinburgh)
I would buy this Movie
Artwork By: Olly Moss

One thought on “Thor

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Surprised the absolute hell out of me just by how pleasant and fun it was to watch. The sequel looks like it’s going to be good, if not a bit bigger in its scope. Good review Scott.

Leave a Reply

