47 Ronin

This movie is a Japanese fairy tale of the 47 Ronin, disgraced samurai who avenged their master despite the Shogun’s strict forbiddance and is one of the most popular tales in Japanese history.  It stars a bunch of Japanese actors which include Hiroyuki Sanada, Kô Shibasaki, Tadanobu Asano, Rinko Kikuchi and Keanu Reeves.  I won’t go too much into much depth on the story as it has little enough mystery to it as it is.

There are 47 Ronan and though you do not meet them all you don’t find enough between them to care much anyway.  It is not that you don’t like them it is just that you are indifferent to their struggle.  The story doesn’t do anything in the way of connecting with the audience ether.  The supernatural backstory is interesting but it doesn’t follow up on any of the seeds it plants.  In fact there is very little supernatural scenes in the movie, or none that warrant a backstory of such depth.  I am not saying the supernatural aspect takes anything away from the story, more so that it doesn’t add anything to it.  If you notice anything in this review is that a pattern of “it just does not do enough” is emerging.  It is entertaining but it just fails to connect, which is its biggest downfall, considering the ending we are expected to swallow.  I won’t end this on a sour note, there is a lot to enjoy, the visuals are stunning and the soundtrack is pleasant enough to listen to, then again I always like Japanese movie soundtracks.  The story is a good one at its core but it would have benefited with less supernatural and more character development.  I didn’t hate it, I just didn’t like it.

Why did I choose this movie, well I have joined the cinema in Cineworld and I no longer have to pay for my cinema going, 47 Ronan is a movie I wouldn’t at first glance I would pay to see so put all of that together and you have my reason.  It has got so much flack, bombing at the box office and having horrible reviews but its worth a watch.  Granted I would only watch it once but still once is worth the story.

My Rating: C+
Format: Cinema (Cineworld: Edinburgh)
I Would Not Buy This Movie

Leave a Reply

