The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is adapted from a short story of the same name by James Thurber. Walter Mitty is your average everyman who often zones out into thrilling fantasy worlds in order to escape his dead-end job in the photo department at LIFE magazine. Mitty has a crush on his colleague Cheryl (Kristen Wiig), but his shyness stops him from making any real sort of contact with her. His boss Ted (Adam Scott) hates him, and his job future is in question as the magazine goes from print to digital. The last cover of Life magazine requires its cover photo however a crucial negative has gone missing. Mitty sets off in search of the negative and mysterious photographer Sean O’Connell (Sean Penn) to save the cover and possibly his job. The search takes him on an adventure, greater wilder and more extreme than anything his mind could ever have dreamed up.

I went into this movie not knowing all that much about it, and what i did know, or thought I knew was dead wrong.  There is something about being so wrong when it comes to a movie I think I won’t like that almost makes me enjoy it more because of it.  It struck the perfect balance.  It was funny, but not too funny as to make a joke of the story.  It was romantic but not too romantic as to turn it into a soppy cheesy mess.  It had action and adventure tempered by a reason for both.  The characters all believable, all under played with no grandiose look at me acting. They were simple relaxed and fitted perfectly. Stiller held the story together perfectly, it was strange, for a story about Walter Mitty it didn’t seem all about him.

Why did I choose this movie, well the thing is if I had not had my Cineworld card I probably wouldn’t have, it didn’t look like the sort of movie I would enjoy. How glad I am that I watched it. The best way I can describe it is like Forrest Gump, it has that same feel. I would seriously recommend watching this movie. I got so much out of it, the story the characters all the small elements that made this movie big. It reaches inside and touches something, I say something because everyone will take something different away from it, or nothing at all, but regardless it really is one amazing and fun story!

My Rating: A
Format: Cinema (Cineworld: Edinburgh)
I Would Buy This Movie

Leave a Reply

