Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, the first in what is rumoured to be a Six part saga, and I think my favourite of the lot. Jay Wolpert developed a script based on the theme park ride in 2001, and Stuart Beattie rewrote it in early 2002.   Enter producer Jerry and before you can say walk the plank, we have ourselves a franchise. There is more action in the later movies but this one is much more cleaver with the characters and script.  It’s not all about the action for action sake its more “Savvy”.  It’s all the wee back story that is not fully explained until the later movies.  I think it would be cool if when they are done they do at least one prequel there is so much they still need to show it would be amazing!

Everyone says its Jonny Depp’s best character, it’s undeniably true that the movie rests on his amazing performance of the drunken, roguish, and insane Jack Sparrow Depp done it so well it’s unimaginable to see anyone else ever playing the role.  You just love how he always gets himself out of trouble with the sharp witted comments and scallywag smirk.  All the characters are amazing, Geoffrey Rush as villainous Captain Barbosa is as good at being bad as Depp was at being mad.  You even feel sorry for the poor cursed fellow by the end, or at least I did.  They cast Orlando Bloom the blacksmith’s apprentice cast for that “Errol Flynn” feeling (so I have read) and as a handsome counterpart to Depp. Kiera Knightly .. need I say anymore!

Why did I choose this movie, well its Pirate Appreciation Month thats way! I was in the mood for something fun to watch. Now that I have watched it all I want is a sunny deserted island with loads of rum, and coconuts. The whole movie is just filled with swashbuckling fun and that big open sea adventure.  I own the soundtrack to this movie, which is a flipping class listen, so it gets points for that!  I’m really glad Disney has brought back the greatly underused genre and just made it more magic and fun!  If you have not watched it yet then I suggest you climb out from under that rock you have been living under and get it bought or downloaded!

 My Rating: A
Format: DVD
I Own This Movie
Artwork By: H. Svanegaard

Leave a Reply

