Need for Speed

I do not fear, for you are with me. All those who defied me, shall be ashamed and disgraced. Those who wage war against me, shall perish. I will find strength, find guidance, and I will triumph.” – Toby Marshall

Toby Marshall (Aaron Paul) runs a garage in a small town in upstate New York. He and his friends Benny (Scott Mescudi), Finn(Rami Malek), Joe Peck (Ramon Rodriguez) and Little Pete (Harrison Gilbertson) build and tune performance cars by day and street race by night. Racing rival Dino (Dominic Cooper) come back to town with a job for Toby and crew to restore a Ford Mustang that Carroll Shelby was building when he died.  He intends to sell the car once the work is done, and offers Toby 25% of the estimated $2,000,000 selling price. Accepting the job the two try to put the past behind them. However Dino’s ego is hit when Toby drives the Mustang hitting speeds he never could and when DJ Monarch (Michael Keaton) the presenter of a racing web-radio show who speculates that Toby was just as good as Dino, but Dino was lucky to make it to the big time. This rivalry is the catalyst for the rest of the story which takes Toby and crew across the country to enter a winner-takes-all race organized by Monarch.

I did my best to keep my own thoughts and expectations of this movie level and to go into the cinema to sit down and enjoy without any outside influence. Of course I had some idea of what to expect, exotic cars, street racing, police chases, drifting, explosions and rivalry but Need for Speed spends a dedicated amount of time with the characters as well as the cars. The type of movie this is you have to take parts with a pinch of salt and humour, that’s part of being entertained. There are silly moments and downright unbelievable ones but it does not take away from the story. The soundtrack is awesome, and even the love interest between Toby and Julia Maddon(Imogen Poots) was not over played between the two female leads

Why did I chose this movie, well it looked awesome, I am a huge Breaking Bad fan and wanted to see what Jessie did next and movies based on computer games are always entertaining. There is a lot of chatter about the similarities between Fast and Furious and Need for Speed, but what two movies now a days don’t have similarities. In my opinion Need for Speed is one of the better movies of this genre I have watched in a while. I am not including Rush in this genre. Set need for speed beside, Gone in Sixty seconds or Fast and Furious and it stands tall. Story is sound if a little far-fetched, is as close to believable as any of this genre. The characters believable, lovable and hateable all that you could ask for. The acting intense, other actors could have walked it but Aaron Paul gives a lot to the story, watery eyes gruff voice, a played down coolness. I have nothing bad to say about it!

My Rating: B+
Format: Cinema (Cineworld: Edinburgh)
I Would Buy This Movie

2 thoughts on “Need for Speed

Leave a Reply

