32 Things: Bet on the Grand National

Well it was the Grand National today and true to my 32 Things list I put my bet on.  To be honest I nearly forgot, If it had not been for my friend Graeme reminding me I would of missed out completely.   I have never put a bet on in the bookies so it was something new from the very beginning.  I pretty muched picked the horses that sounded cool, I never looked into riders or anything like that, maybe will next year! My horses are as follows:

The Package 20/1

Shakalakaboomboom 28/1

Tea For Three 10/1

Pineau De Re, ridden by Leighton Aspell and trained by Dr Richard Newland, won the 167th Grand National at Aintree at odds of 25-1.  The 11-year-old beat Balthazar King (14-1) by five lengths, with Double Seven (10-1 joint favourite) third, Alvarado (33-1) fourth and Rocky Creek (16-1) fifth.  Clare, Lauren and myself put £2 each on Tea for three, Clare  £5 on Shakalakaboomboom and I put £5 on The Package.   Ok so none of my horses one but it was exciting!  I dont think it is something I would do all the time, my first venture into betting hasn’t spurred meto try again anytime soon.  However maybe next year I will put extra down and try an “Each Way” bet, Graeme did and won £20 from a £10 bet!

 

Leave a Reply

