Diamonds Are Forever

Diamonds Are Forever is the fourth novel in the James Bond 007 saga by Ian Fleming and takes place just after the events of Moonraker, after Bond has a holiday! M instructs Bond to infiltrate a diamond smuggling ring, which is running from African mines to the United States. The smugglers are apparently causing trouble for the English government and it is Bond’s job is to go undercover and travel down the “pipeline” and find out who is behind it all. Bond’s life consists of endless situations in which he finds himself in danger and as the undercover work leads him deeper and deeper into the criminal underworld following a Gangster network of criminals. Among the criminal fraternity are ruthless mobsters Shady Tree along with brothers Jack and Sereffino Spang who run the notorious crime syndicate called “The Spangled Mob” who employ two ruthless assassins Mr. Wint and Mr. Kidd.

It is not the strongest of the books I have read so far but it has a lot to take out from it. The way Fleming describes the locations is outstanding, it really helps to place you right alongside Bond in his mission. There are some hints, with regard to Mr. Wint and Mr. Kidd,to what they may or may not be into but I think homosexuality was a bigger thing back in the 50s and could not be so easily written about. Its not as gripping as the other novels I have read but it is great to see Felix Leiter back in the mix! Good read but lacks the suspense!


One thought on “Diamonds Are Forever

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s