Jack Reacher

In Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, five innocent people are shot dead by an expert sniper.  The police task force headed by Detective Emerson (David Oyelowo) uncover evidence that points towards James Barr (Joseph Sikora), a former U.S. Army sniper.  Emerson and District Attorney, Alex Rodin (Richard Jenkins) interrogate Barr and encourage him to confess during his interrogation stating the insurmountable evidence against him.  Barr’s response is to write on a notepad the words, “Get Jack Reacher.”  Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise) teams up with defence attorney, counsellor Helen Rodin (Rosamund Pike) to investigate the murders of these five seemingly random people and confirm for himself the absolute certainty of the man’s guilt, but comes up with more than he bargained for.

I watched this without knowing anything about it, other than it was a Tome Cruise movie where he played a guy called jack (AGAIN) and that it was on a book that fans where disgusted Tom Cruise was now attached to.  I don’t know what all the fuss was about, if anything I think Tom was great in the role.  He was up against Brad Pit, Will Smith, Hugh Jackman and others but I think he plays the everyman better and the power of the character comes from the intimidating nature rather than some physical abilities.  In fact the smaller stature allows for Jack Reacher to be underestimated which makes it even better!  Jai Courtney also plays the ruthless bad guy perfectly, he’s not some mental killer he under plays it with a relaxing nonchalance which balances with Toms character.  Robert Duvall has a smaller part but it fits and adds to a humour and heart of the movie.

Why did I chose this movie?  I have wanted to watch it for a while! I loved this movie, it’s not going to win any awards but it was entertaining and fun to watch.  I have never read the books so my opinion is just on the movie I watched without any preconceptions.  Actually watching the movie has made me want to read the books, so for at the haters out there, the movies made me a Lee Child fan!  I think this movie will suit people like me who have never read the books more than fans, all I have heard from fans is how tom was the worst choice but I enjoyed it.  Take it for what it is and enjoy, its better than Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol put it that way!

My Rating: B
Format: Download (I-Tunes)
I Would Not This Movie
Artwork By: Lee94Josh

Leave a Reply

