32 Things: Try Meditation

The goal of meditation is to focus and quiet your mind, eventually reaching a higher level of awareness and inner calm. When I decided to put this on my list of 32 Things I was living in Edinburgh and I had planned to attend a meditation class at the Kagyu Samye Dzong a Tibetan Buddhist Meditation Centre in the heart of the city.  However the thing about meditation is that you can do it anywhere any time.  There are many different techniques to meditation I decided to incorporate deep breathing along with body and special awareness to gain a mindful meditative state.   Deep Breathing is more about to focusing on your breathing and only your breathing. Its not about thinking about it more so being aware of it. Body awareness is focusing and being aware of your body and then allowing it to melt away.  Starting with your toes and feet moving upwards through your body it helped to really relive stress.  Spatial awareness was almost like astral projection, not that I’m saying I left my body but I imagined it, and it proved another way to disconnect. It’s not about clearing your mind from all thought, that impossible, it is about relaxation and allowing all of those thoughts to flow through your mind in a relaxed and stress free way.   I have been trying it for the better part of 6 months now and I do find it a helpful way to find calmness, peace of mind, more positive and greater energy.  It has been a new experience that s at the same time an ongoing one.

Leave a Reply

