A Reminiscence of Dr. Samuel Johnson

A Reminiscence of Dr. Samuel Johnson” is a short story written in 1917 by  H. P. Lovecraft. It was first published in the September 1917 when Lovecraft was 27 and is unlike any of his earlier works. The story begins by our narrator Littlewit stating that he is a much older man than people belive and then  instantaly begins name-dropping.  We as the reader are made aware of all the famous English writers Littlewit has been acquainted with over the years.

I will admit I never really got this one, maybe I was tired or maybe I was not aware of the fact it’s a parody but I just didn’t get it. However saying that I still did enjoy the flow of the language used, I have always loved how beautiful crafted Lovecraft’s sentences are and even though I was not familiar with many of the writers that are eluded to in this story which I guess would make the jokes more meaningful I was able to enjoy the eloquence of the narration.

Leave a Reply

