The Godfather

Don Vito Corleone (Marlon Brando) “The Godfather” is of the Corleone Mafia Family an infamous crime family.  The aging patriarch of this organized crime dynasty wishes to transfer control of his clandestine empire to one of his sons however this instability is seen as weakness and all-out war between the crime families becomes unavoidable.  The story of this New York crime family spans the years 1945 to 1955 and centres on the stories of brothers Sonny (James Caan), Fredo (John Cazale) and Michael (Al Pacino) along with adoptive brother Tom Hagen (Robert Duvall) and chronicles the events that lead to the transformation of Michael Corleone from reluctant family outsider and WWII hero to a ruthless Mafia boss.

Based on Puzo’s best-selling novel of the same name, The Godfather is widely regarded as one of the greatest films in world cinema and as one of the most influential, especially in the gangster genre. It won Oscars for best Picture, Screenplay and Best Actor.  The move serves as a Classic, Pulp, Noir and Social Drama as well as true to form Gangster Movie without the needless cliché.  The feeling of the movie is amazing, the attention to detail staggering.  Most of the cars have wooden bumpers, as they did just after the war and the wedding of Don Vito Corleone at the beginning of the movie feels like a real family wedding with the extras having a last in an almost fly on the wall film making.  James Caan also was reported to have actually hung out with various disreputable characters in order to better understand the underworld lifestyle.

Why did I chose this movie?  I have never watched it before, can you believe that?  So I put it on my list of 32 Things and hoped for the best.  It did take me some time to get into but I think that was all part of the pull.  It eases you into the story rather than throwing you in and expecting to catch up. Large parts of the dialogue n Italian was another technique that drew you deeper and deeper into this world.   I am not one for Gangster movies but I did enjoy watching this. In short it is an excellent adaptation of a gripping novel of organized crime in America which is superbly acted and flawlessly scored.  I f you have been like me and haven’t not watched it yet go have a wee peek.

My Rating: A
Format: Download (I-Tunes)
I Would Buy This Movie
Artwork By: Gabriel Suarez

Leave a comment